Today’s crock of crap: Becel Vegan

April 22nd, 2010  |  Published in Stumpblog  |  5 Comments

Wow! Becel has an all-vegan, kosher formula! Omega-3s! That must be good for me!

Oh wait… canola & sunflower oils 74%, water 19%, modified palm & palm kernel oils 6%, salt 0.4%, soy lecithin 0.2%, vegetables monoglycerides 0.2%, potassium sorbate 0.1%, citric acid, alpha-tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), natural & artificial flavours, vitamin A palmitate (vitamin A), vitamin D2, beta carotene… and you had to make that all into a shelf-stable (‘How long can you store Becel Vegan? Several months (refrigerated)”), solid, pleasingly golden-coloured product?

Why am I eating this again?

Next up: Vegan Candy.

Read your labels. “Vegan” is not a magic talisman of health promotion. Sometimes the cure is worse than the disease. And remember, the more a food trumpets how “healthy” it is — the more likely it actually isn’t.

Responses

  1. Trishy says:

    April 22nd, 2010at 12:51 pm(#)

    Earth Balance shortening is vegan too, and has a lot less crap in it, it’s just a blend of expeller-pressed oils. Always gotta read those labels.

  2. Lauren says:

    April 22nd, 2010at 3:52 pm(#)

    I’ve noticed an increase in allegedly healthy products using modified palm oils lately – I think they assume that they’re doing something good for developing nations that produce the stuff (and it’s stupid cheap and alarmingly shelf stable). I always check labels for it, my husband is actually allergic to it!

  3. Simma says:

    April 23rd, 2010at 7:05 am(#)

    Palm oil extracted through traditional methods is actually a healthy fat and has been used in traditional cuisines over half the earth for centuries.

    It’s when food processors industrially modify it that we need to watch out.

    Basically, when a product that is not butter tries to be butter (or bacon, or whatever), chances are that way too many of the ingredients involved have been tweaked into a harmful form that is not food.

  4. grendelkhan says:

    May 5th, 2010at 8:17 am(#)

    Oreos are vegan. (In some places they used to contain whey, but they don’t any more.) Oreos.

  5. Rachel says:

    May 12th, 2010at 10:55 am(#)

    Love the site, am vegan and a a regular partaker of weight training and running. I couldn’t agree more that ‘vegan’ is not an automatic indicator of healthfulness. Fries and mockmeats are vegan but won’t do you many favours in the nutrition stakes. However, I would add that ‘vegan’ isn’t the only label used in an attempt to entice people to believing a product is good for you. I get my omegas from seeds freshly ground, by me, and also high quality cold pressed flaxseed. Vegan or not, I’d avoid anything that had an ingredient list like that one. Eeugh!


Get "Fuck Calories"

Enter your information below and the magical gnomes that run Stumptuous will send you a copy of the "Fuck Calories" e-book for free!
Name:
Email Marketing by Javelin

Share